This list provides links to the main medical and health databases.
There are plenty more electronic resources - check here for resources available via the University of Cambridge
Some database services require passwords – RAVEN for University resources or NHS ATHENS. If you have an ATHENS registration or login from another institution, access to databases may be via another route – please check with the Library of your institution for details.
| Database | Password? | training guide | About |
|---|---|---|---|
High quality evidence only! |
|||
NHS Evidence |
www.evidence.nhs.uk(no password) | pdf guide | Great place to get the cream of the evidence – searches a limited number of high quality sources. More… |
TRIP database |
www.tripdatabase.com (no password) |
pdf guide | Great place to get the cream of the evidence – searches a limited number of high quality sources. More… |
Cochrane Library |
www.thecochranelibrary.com (no password) |
pdf guide | The source of systematic reviews. More… |
Great General Databases |
|||
Pubmed (Medline) |
www.pubmed.gov(no password) or Available via NHS ATHENS | pdf guide to pubmed- | Great starting point for any health or medical literature search. More… |
Embase |
Available using RAVEN Login or Available using NHS ATHENS | pdf guide for RAVEN login | Very complementary to Medline with strengths in pharmacology, drug research & toxicology. More.. |
CINAHL |
Available via NHS ATHENS | pdf guide to NHS ATHENS | Prime source of nursing and allied health literature. More… |
BNI |
Available via NHS ATHENS | pdf guide to NHS ATHENS(more..) | British Nursing Index – great source of nurse literature. More… |
PsycINFO |
Available using RAVEN login OR PsycINFO via NHS ATHENS |
guide for RAVEN login | Prime source for psychology and psychiatry literature. More… |
Multi-Discilpinary |
|||
Web of Knowledge |
login via University RAVEN | pdf guide for RAVEN login | Multi-disciplinary database, including links to Citation Indexes (citing articles) and Journal Impact Factors. More… |
Scopus |
login via University RAVEN | pdf guide for RAVEN login | Multi-disciplinary database, including links to citing articles. More… |
Subject Specifc |
|||
Health Business Elite |
Available using NHS ATHENS | pdf guide to NHS ATHENS | Great for healthcare administration. More… |
HMIC |
Available using NHS ATHENS | pdf guide to NHS ATHENS | Health Information Management Consortium – great information from Dept of Health and Kings Fund. More… |
AMED |
Available using NHS ATHENS | pdf guide to NHS ATHENS | Allied and Complementary Medicine Database. More… |
PEDro |
http://www.pedro.org.au/ | (more..) | Physiotherapy Evidence Database. More… |
| OTSeeker | http://www.otseeker.com/ | (more..) | Searches systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. More…. |


